Nichols Reappointed to National Advisory Committee

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. (July 15, 2015) — Indiana Corn Marketing Council Director Mike Nichols was recently reappointed to the Agricultural Technical Advisory Committee for Trade (ATAC) in Grains, Feed, Oilseeds and Planting Seeds by United States Department of Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack.
Nichols is a farmer from Rockport, Ind., and is also vice president of the Indiana Corn Growers Association. Nichols will serve on the ATAC until June 15, 2019.
“It’s great to have Hoosier farmers like Mike appointed to national policy committees like this, making sure the voice of Indiana agriculture is heard,” said Dennis Maple, ICMC president. “Development of trade opportunities is vital for farmers across the country and here in Indiana. With the signing of the Trade Promotion Authority by President Obama, we hope to see even more trade opportunities arise for American agriculture, making these committees even more important.”
Nichols was one of 20 members appointed to the ATAC in Grains, Feed, Oilseeds and Planting Seeds from across the country. Vilsack said the USDA relies on those individuals for expert advice on U.S. trade policy and priorities.
Congress established the advisory committee system in 1974 to ensure a private-sector voice in establishing U.S. agricultural trade policy objectives to reflect U.S. commercial and economic interests. The U.S. Department of Agriculture and the Office of the U.S. Trade Representative jointly manage the committees. The ATACs offer technical advice and information about specific commodities and products. A complete list of committee members is available at
Contact: Megan Kuhn, Indiana Corn Marketing Council, 317-614-0377 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
The Indiana Corn Marketing Council was established by the Indiana General Assembly to promote the interest of corn growers in the state and manage corn checkoff funds. The Council is composed of 17 voting producer directors and seven appointed industry, and government representatives.
This communication was funded with corn checkoff dollars.