Press Releases

Absentee voting underway for Indiana Corn Marketing Council Board of Directors

Contact: Dave Blower Jr. at 317-644-0980;

 INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. (July 16, 2019) — With busy summer fieldwork underway, corn farmers may cast absentee ballots in this year’s election for the Indiana Corn Marketing Council’s (ICMC) board of directors from today through Aug. 9. Otherwise, farmers may vote from Aug. 12-16 in person at Purdue Cooperative Extension Service county offices.


All eligible Hoosier corn producers, defined as any person engaged in the business of producing and marketing corn in Indiana under the producer’s own name or the name of an entity in which the producer has ownership, may vote in the election. The state is divided into nine districts with one director representing each of the districts and six at-large seats representing all of Indiana.


Absentee ballots can be obtained by calling the ICMC office at 317-644-2791 or visiting the Purdue Cooperative Extension Service county offices. Absentee ballots must be postmarked by Aug. 9.


Five Indiana corn farmers seek re-election, all running unopposed, for the five available seats on the ICMC board. The candidates include:


  • District 1 – Natasha Cox, Fowler, Ind.; District 1 includes the counties of Benton, Jasper, Lake, LaPorte, Newton, Porter, Pulaski, Starke and White.
  • District 4 – Paul Hodgen, Roachdale, Ind.; District 4 includes the counties of Clay, Fountain, Montgomery, Owen, Putnam, Tippecanoe, Vermillion, Vigo and Warren.
  • District 7 – J.R. Roesner, Ferdinand, Ind.; District 7 includes the counties of Daviess, Dubois, Gibson, Greene, Knox, Martin, Pike, Posey, Spencer, Sullivan, Vanderburgh and Warrick.
  • At-large – David Ring, Huntingburg, Ind., and Josh Miller, Anderson, Ind.; each at-large seat represents all of Indiana.


The ICMC board manages state corn checkoff investments and determines promotional, educational and research activities that can strengthen Indiana’s corn industry. The elected directors will serve three-year terms beginning Oct. 1, 2019. ICMC directors can serve three consecutive full terms or a total of nine consecutive years.


For more information, visit or call Hannah Vorsilak, ICMC Director of Education and Training, at 317-644-2791.




The Indiana Corn Marketing Council was established by the Indiana General Assembly to promote the interest of corn growers in the state and manage corn checkoff funds. The Council is composed of 17 voting farmer directors and seven appointed industry, and government representatives who direct investments of corn checkoff funds on behalf of more than 28,000 Indiana corn farmers. The ICMC is working to build new markets for corn through the promotion of grain marketing, livestock, production research, ethanol, and environmental programs. Learn more at


This communication was funded with Indiana corn checkoff dollars.