Press Releases

One new director, four re-elected directors gain positions on ICMC board


Contact: Dave Blower Jr. at 317-644-0980;

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. (Nov. 12, 2018) — Jackson County farmer Luke Schnitker joins veteran Indiana Corn Marketing Council directors Mike Beard, Sarah Delbecq, Christian Rosen and Kelly Whiteman Snipes on the checkoff’s board following elections in August.


Schnitker and his wife, Katlynn, grow 300 acres of corn and 300 acres of soybeans on their farm near Seymour, Ind. He began farming in 2014 and works as an agronomy account manager for Premier Ag. Schnitker earned a bachelor’s degree in agronomy from Purdue University in 2013.


“I am a fifth generation Jackson County farmer,” said Schnitker, who represents the District 8 counties of Monroe, Brown, Lawrence, Jackson, Orange, Washington, Crawford, Perry, Floyd and Harrison. “Along with my father, we farm 600 acres split between corn and soybeans. I grew up raising hogs in a farrow-to-finish operation, but I have exited that business in recent years.”


Rosen and his wife, Andrea, grow more than 1,000 acres of row crops including corn, soybeans and wheat on his farm near Urbana, Ind. He farms in a partnership with his cousin, Jon Rosen. Rosen started farming in 1992, and his operation spreads into Wabash and Huntington counties.


“We’re a fifth generation grain and livestock family farm,” said Rosen of District 2 representing St. Joseph, Elkhart, Marshall, Kosciusko, Fulton, Miami, Wabash, Cass and Carroll counties. “We raise corn, soybeans and wheat and finish hogs on contract. We also do custom farming.”


Beard farms 1,000 acres of corn and 1,000 acres of soybeans on Meadowlane Farms. He and his wife, Pamela, have operated their farm near Frankfort, Ind. since 1972. Mostly they raise no-till corn and soybeans. Beard represents the District 5 counties of Grant, Howard, Clinton, Tipton, Madison, Hamilton, Boone, Hendricks, Hancock, Marion, Shelby, Morgan, Johnson, Rush, Bartholomew and Decatur.


Beard serves as President of the Board of Directors of the Indiana Corn Marketing Council (ICMC), and Vice-President of the Board of Directors of the Indiana Corn Growers Association (ICGA). Beard’s service with Indiana’s corn and soybean checkoffs began in 2002. In addition, he contributes time on the National Corn Growers Association’s (NCGA) Market Access Action Team. Beard is a past board member for the United Soybean Board (USB), Indiana Soybean Alliance (ISA) and Indiana Pork Producers Association (IPPA).

Delbecq produces about 2,400 acres of corn, soybeans, and wheat on her family farm in DeKalb County.  She is part of the sixth generation of Brechbill Farms, which has operated near Auburn, Ind., since 1864.  Using no-till and other conservation practices, she and her husband, Benoit, have managed the farm since 2014, when they returned to northeastern Indiana after working for the U.S. Department of Agriculture in Washington, D.C.  Delbecq, who was re-elected to an at-large seat on the ICMC board, serves as Secretary on the ICMC’s executive board, as well as President of the Indiana Corn Growers Association.


With 200 acres of corn, 150 acres of soybeans and another three acres of alfalfa, Kelly Whiteman Snipes and her husband, Dan, became the fourth generation to work the soil of their family’s farm in 2011. The couple farms with her in-laws, Gary and Kathy Snipes near Rochester, Ind. “We grow No. 2 yellow corn (primarily for ethanol), high oleic soybeans and quality, small square bales of alfalfa,” said Whiteman Snipes, who was also elected to one of the at-large posts on the ICMC board. “Both my husband and I work off the farm, too.”


Whiteman Snipes represented ICMC on the U.S. Grains Council in 2017-18, and she served on the Council’s Sustainability Action Team. Whiteman Snipes led the ICMC’s Supply Committee in 2017-18. She owns and created OBS Creative Services.


The ICMC board manages state corn checkoff investments and invests in market expansion, research, educational activities that can strengthen Indiana’s corn industry. Voting is open to Indiana corn producers, defined as: any person engaged in the business of producing and marketing corn in Indiana under the producer’s own name or the name of an entity in which the producer has ownership.


Newly elected directors for all three districts and the at-large seats will serve three-year terms that began on Oct. 1. ICMC directors can serve three consecutive full terms or a total of nine consecutive years. For information about the election process, visit




The Indiana Corn Marketing Council was established by the Indiana General Assembly to promote the interest of corn growers in the state and manage corn checkoff funds. The Council is composed of 17 voting farmer directors and seven appointed industry, and government representatives who direct investments of corn checkoff funds on behalf of more than 28,000 Indiana corn farmers. The ICMC is working to build new markets for corn through the promotion of grain marketing, livestock, production research, ethanol, and environmental programs. Learn more at


This communication was funded with Indiana corn checkoff dollars.